I’m coming home!

Well after my resignation as Dortmund manager I struggled to find a job that truly interested me, I holidayed between Dutch games with the options “Apply for all jobs” and “Return from holiday on job offer” ticked, this got some odd offers most that didn’t interest me, offered the likes of Es Viry from the French National League, Vysocina from the Czech top flight, Sociadad in Spain, and countless others the Sociadad one did tempt me as they have won plenty of cups but couldn’t break the Real/Barca strong hold on La Liga.  Then I was offered a few jobs in Germany but I couldn’t see myself returning to the country I have just left. Durham City even offered me my old job back, but I wasn’t interested in returning to the City where it all began There was only one Club in England I was prepared to return for and that’s Sunderland.

 

And that’s who I applied for next after seeing them languishing near the foot of the championship I decided it was my turn to ride in and save them. However I put the job offer on hold until after the world cup with Holland, partly because I want to finish the job with the Dutch as I intend to leave after the Tournament and partly because Fiorentina a side I wanted to manage in Italy were looking likely to sack their manager.

But that never happened so I’m just playing through till I take over at my home team!.

 

A quick bit of History since 2012/13 season Sunderland have won…..ZIP! After finishing 17th in 12/13 they improved a lot and finished 8th it looked like the start of something good, but it wasn’t to be as only 7 wins from 28 saw the Black cats drop out of the Top flight with 29 points and they haven’t been back since.

 

A play-off spot in their debut season in the Championship ended in failure again as they lost in the play-offs, the sale of their better players saw a 14th and 16th place finish follow, a surprise run to the play-offs in 2018/19 saw the Black cats sneak in on the last day but they went out in the semis. Two more disappointing seasons where they finished 13th and 11th saw them languishing in mid-table unable to find consistency to get back up, but the 21/22 season saw the so close to claiming a top flight spot as they lost out by 2 points to the Automatic promotion spots as they finish 3rd before losing the play-off final.

However that disappointment saw a downward spiral as they slumped to 13th the following year, before a glimmer of hope and a 8th place finish but that was a blip as the Black cats circled the Championship drop zone for four seasons finishing 21st, 20th, 18th and 12th before in 2028/29 they fell through after only picking up 43 points as they finished 2nd bottom.

29/30 was a good year for the club as they won the league with ease picking up 91 points and returned to the championship full of hope of cementing the place and they managed to tread water as 5 years of lower mid-table finished with a 14th, 19th, 16th, 14th, 15th, before a disastrous campaign saw them drop down again finishing 22nd with only 42 points, a poor season in League two saw them finish 12th and struggling to find form and return to the championship.

But in 27/28 they finished 3rd again narrowly missing the Automatic promotion spots. But this time they triumphed at Wembley as they won the play-offs, the last few seasons have been disappointing as a 21st place finish on their return to the championship. Was followed by a more improved 14th but they slumped back down to 21st narrowly avoiding the drop.

Leave a Reply

